Meet the Counselors: Kuba Hernik


Where did you grow up?

I grew up in a small city about 100 km from the capital, Warsaw. To be honest, there isn’t much to do there because the city is in more of an industrial area, so my friends and I always had to be creative with organizing our free time. The good thing about living there is that it’s in the central part of the country. You are able to easily travel to the mountains, or go to Warsaw, whether you want to spend time more actively or just grab a taste of the city lifestyle.

What do you do during the school year? 

During the year I focus on studying. I was studying Spanish and next year I plan to start learning Chinese, which for sure will be a huge challenge. I also travel a lot, trying to go abroad a couple of times a year. I always go to different countries in order to learn about new cultures.

Have you ever worked at a camp or with kids before?

Two years ago, I started working at a big hotel in Spain as an entertainer, switching weekly between working with kids and adults. I spent three months there and I liked it so much that the next year I decided to repeat the experience. We had a great time and I will always have great memories from that period.

What were you like as a child?

As a child I was always very active, spending entire days outside playing with other kids. I used to go to two different camps every holiday. One would be a basketball camp, and the other one more like hiking camp, where we were exploring the area and going for long trips. 

 What’s your favorite group game/activity or sport? 

My favorite group sport is definitely basketball, as I spent my whole childhood playing it, but at the same time I’m a huge fan of football. In Poland, literally every kid plays football, wearing his favorite player’s jersey and trying to copy his signature moves. I always wore Ronaldinho’s or C. Ronaldo’s.

What do you like to do you in your free time?

I like to spend my free time with my friends, just hanging out or go to the gym, where I work out mostly with my brother. I also like to connect a little bit with the nature, hiking, or chill at the lake.

What about your culture and language are you excited to share with campers? 

It will be very interesting, because Polish is one of the most difficult languages to learn. I would like to share with all the campers about delicious Polish food and tell them about our everyday habits.

What do you think campers will be surprised to learn this summer? 

That even though we are from such different countries, we have so much in common and can learn from each other.

What advice can you give to campers about having a successful summer? 

I think the more you integrate with other campers, the better you will feel at camp and for sure you will fully appreciate the time spend with your new friends.